Types of Immortality

Type 1 Immortality

Other Name: Eternal Life

Characters gifted with this type of immortality cannot die from natural causes, such as old age or conventional illness, but can be killed by unnatural causes. To clarify, this type of immortality can include both those who do not age at all, and those who still grow old, but will never die of old age. However, in the case of the latter it should be made clear that this is not just Longevity, as characters with that ability will eventually die of old age, as opposed to Eternal Life, for which dying of old age is not possible.

Examples: The Gorach Species, Ectherid, Fay

Type 2 Immortality

Other Name: Resilient Immortality

Characters with this degree of immortality can indefinitely survive injuries that would otherwise be lethal to a normal person, without needing to heal. This type of immortality can have different levels of effectiveness and can be bypassed, for example, by causing extremely severe wounds or the complete destruction of the body or specific parts of it, such as the head, etc.

Example: Darth Sion

Type 3 Immortality

Other Name: Immortality via Regeneration

Characters with this type of immortality can simply regenerate from wounds that would normally be lethal, though its effectiveness depends on the degree of the regeneration.

Example: GLARE, Durge

Type 4 Immortality

Other Name: Immortality via Reincarnation or Resurrection

Characters that are immortal because, whenever they die, they will simply reincarnate within another body or resurrect themselves at a later point in time.

Example: Vahl (?)

Type 5 Immortality

Other Name: Deathless Immortality

Characters who exist unbound by conventional life or death, or do not exist at all, and thus cannot be traditionally killed. Typically, abilities such as Existence Erasure are needed to destroy them.

Example: The Thread Maker, Axis/The Key

Type 6 Immortality

Other Name: Parasitic Immortality

The character is able to attain a sort of immortality by abandoning bodies whenever necessary to transfer their consciousness to another body, whether they are possessing someone else or switching to a backup body.

Example: Axis/The Key, Users of Essence Transference

Type 7 Immortality

Other Name: Undead Immortality

Characters who cannot die due to technically being already dead, often overlapping with other forms of immortality. This includes characters who can keep existing as spiritual entities upon dying.

Example: Force Ghosts, Dr. Cornelius Evazan

Type 8 Immortality

Other Name: Reliant Immortality

The character gets benefited by 1 or more other types of Immortality as long as a certain being, object, place and/or concept or more may grant them those benefits, losing them otherwise. What exactly a user is reliant over, the benefits given from it, and how the process of the ability operates must be explained. Simply having some weakness that will kill a character when exploited doesn't qualify if it doesn't grant a form of Immortality, and also having other powers that do grant Immortality but are unrelated to that weakness does not count as well.

Example: Tup

Type 9 Immortality

Other Name: Transcendental Immortality

Characters whose true selves exist independently from the plane where they can be killed.

Example: Wellend Feid